Drobo alternative

I have been looking for a small footprint NAS where I can toss all of my digital media. I have looked at windows home servers, external enclosures, various NAS boxes but have been not very impressed with any of them. I decided that the best option for me would be a drobo because it supports raid 5, is hot swappable, looks good, and most importantly is easy enough to administer that a puppy could do it. The one I set my eye on is here. So far the price has been the only thing stopping me from getting it.

wpid-screen-shot-2010-05-30-at-9-37-30-pm-2010-05-30-21-43.png

Last night I came across a drobo alternative that I have never heard of before. It is the Mercury Elite Al Pro. I am glad I haven’t bought the drobo yet. This includes firewire, usb2 and esata. A huge plus. Not only does it have more ports, and look better, it also costs less! Sorry Drobo, I’ve found someone new.

wpid-screen-shot-2010-05-30-at-9-38-04-pm-2010-05-30-21-43.png

About spuder
spuder is a "super computer" support engineer by day, and tinkerer / hobbyist by night.

Leave a Reply

