Carbon Fiber Macbook

        I had someone ask me where I got this skin for my laptop. It actually isn’t a skin per se, but is a vinyl wrap designed to be applied to motor cycles.

Here is a link to ebay where you can get similar wraps.

http://shop.ebay.com/?_from=R40&_trksid=p5197.m570.l1313&_nkw=3M+Di-NOC+dinoc+Carbon+Fiber+Vinyl+Wrap&_sacat=See-All-Categories

The material sticks very well, yet does not leave a residue when you remove it. Another plus is that it is very thin and is easy to bend around corners.
When applying the corners, make a little slit so it will bend easier then use a heat source to get it to conform to the corner. I used my girlfriends straightening iron. I finally took a razor blade to the edges to trim off any excess material.

I originally intended to cut out the apple logo, but decided it looked better as is.

Over all I am very pleased with the results.

wpid-dsc_6692-2011-01-29-00-353.jpg

wpid-dsc_6693-2011-01-29-00-353.jpg

wpid-dsc_6690-2011-01-29-00-353.jpg

wpid-dsc_6688-2011-01-29-00-353.jpg

wpid-dsc_6694-2011-01-29-00-353.jpg

About spuder
spuder is a "super computer" support engineer by day, and tinkerer / hobbyist by night.

Leave a Reply

